Review: Shadow Of Doubt - No Mercy




San Antonio’s Shadow Of Doubt follow up their demo with their premiere EP, No Mercy out June 2nd!



by Adam Holtzapfel



No Mercy is 4 tracks spanning 12 minutes of metal tinged hardcore, think Best Wishes era Cro-Mags and late 80’s Agnostic Front.



Shadow Of Doubt consists of Ely Castillo (vocals), Patrick Flanigan (guitar), Jeremy Pacheco (guitar), Lorenzo Sixtos (drums), and Justin Crude (bass). Recorded by Phillip Odom (Ivy League) at Bad Wolf Studios and mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege (Integrity, Power Trip, Nails) No Mercy is cohesive and shows hardcore is alive and well.



This is the perfect blend of late 80’s NYHC with parts reminding me of bands like Will To Live, Merauder, and Agents of Man. The standout tracks for me are Beyond, No Mercy, and Fade.




Picks this up on WAR Records (owned by Andrew Kline of Strife). This will fit perfectly on any hardcore fans shelf.